Some of us are looking for love and some of us are looking for a good time. We live in a time where there is an app or website for everything, so if hooking up with men is what you’re looking for, then BarebackRT.com might have some interesting things to offer you.
BarebackRT.com is a hook-up website for bisexual, gay, transgender and questioning men. The website has been active since 2006. As the name of the website indicates, it’s especially for men who like to bareback. Now comes the question: Is BarebackRT.com the website for you and your needs? We’re here to help you find out.
Firstly, once we enter the website, we are met with a semi-NSFW picture along with the question if we are above 18. Once you click the confirmation that you’re an adult, you are taken to a NSFW logging in page. Here, you are also given the option to create a new account if you don’t have one already. You can’t see any part of the website unless you have a profile. Therefore, ensuring you that all of your info is safe and not visible to any “visitors”. The initial look of the signing up and logging in page look a little more archaic, but the fact that they exist ever since 2006 explains that. The website tells you the number of people who are currently using the website, and at the time of writing this, the average number of users on the website was about 12000 to 13000 visitors.
The signing up process is pretty much the same signing up process like on any other dating/hook-up website. It asks you to create a username (screenname) and a password for your account, along with your email information and the area in which you live in. The terms of agreement are listed underneath the first step of signing up. The second part of the signing up process is creating your basic profile. Here, you can add a headline to your profile and a description of yourself, along with your birthday information and your stats. Here, you can add your height, weight, and other physical characteristics along with your HIV status and sexual preferences. On the third step of signing up, you can upload your pictures to the website.
BarebackRT are very strict when it comes to what kind of images and interactions they allow and which they don’t. This is a good way to ensure that the users of the website are kept safe. Once you upload a picture, you’re done! You can add more pictures, however – only paying members will be able to see your pictures in full size. Your first picture needs to be the picture that you want others to see and what will attract others to your profile. Now that your profile is done, you get access to what the website has to offer. You can add in more about your sexual preferences, fetishes, kinks.
Pros & Cons
- Direct and upfront
- Lots of features
- Safe and protected website
- Has mobile version of the website and mobile app
- Widely available
- Not expensive
- Dated interface of the website
- No trail period for premium
- Limited features for free members
BarebackRT has a free version of the website and a premium version of the website. When you’re using the site as a free user - you can click on the profiles, send them messages (or emails, as referred to on the site), add them as a buddy, add a note about them that only you can see, and you can send other users an “oink”. On other websites, this feature would usually be called “sending a wink/nudge”. Paid users can send instant messages, while free members can only receive them. Paying members also have more freedom when it comes to editing their profile, and they can join chat rooms.
Free members have limits on how many people they can block, how many buddy requests they can send, and they can’t manage or post local parties. Paying members can see all the pictures (except the locked ones) in full resolution, while free members can only see medium sized thumbnails. Another interesting feature of the website is that you can see who is in your current city and if there are any travelers came by your city. These are great features because it gives you an easier opportunity to connect with other people.
Costs and prices
BBRTS offers a few different subscriptions for members who want to use the premium features. The subscription for one month is $5.95. You have two options here: you can choose the option to pay for only one month or to have a monthly subscription plan. There is no extra fee, the automatic monthly subscription also costs $5.95. The three-month subscription costs $16.95 making it $5.65 per month. The six-month subscription costs $32.95, making it $5.49 per month, while the yearlong subscription costs $59.95, making it $4.99 per month. You can pay by card, or you can pay by mailing them money on their address mentioned on their website.
All in all - this is not an expensive subscription fee. It might have been better if there was a trail deal in case you’re not sure if you want to use this particular website.
BBRTS might have a bit of a dated look, but its users seem to enjoy what the site has to offer very much. The price is totally fine, especially since it’s an app that’s been loved by non-straight men from all over the world. It’s obvious that this website has built a sense of community around the love of men to barback other men. Therefore, if this sounds like something that might interest you, and you don’t mind the archaic look of the website – give BBRTS a go!
Is there a BBRTS app?
The website says that it has an app version of the website, however, it redirects to you the mobile version of the website. The interface is a bit nicer, or better said, more modern than their mobile version.
How to delete BBRTS account?
In order to have your account deleted or deactivated, you need to send support a message. The whole process is very simple. You don’t even need to state why you want to deactivate or delete your account. Once you send the message, your account will be deleted in 10 to 15 minutes.
The website notes that if you request to have your account deleted, it can't be reactivated and the screen name will be locked out of the system for 6 months. Members that repeatedly request to have their account closed/deactivated will have their account deleted and their screen name will also be locked out of the system for 6 months.